Dante’s Inferno

“Abandon all hope ye who enter.”


Dante Alighieri was born in Florence, Italy on May 21, 1265 and died in Ravenna, Italy on September 13, 1321. He was a philosopher, poet, and scholar.

Take A Break: Which Italian City Should You Live In?

The Divine Comedy 

This epic poem tells the story of Dante as he travels through hell, purgatory, and paradise. The poem is divided into three parts- Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso. Inferno shows Dante’s descent into the 9 levels of hell, Purgatorio talks about Dante’s climb up the Mount of Purgatory, and Paradiso is Dante’s final journey through Heaven. High school English classes only study/read Inferno and that is what this page will mainly focus on.


Audio Book

Translation by John Ciardi  (Cantos 1-20)

Translation by John Lotherington (all Cantos)

Take A Break: Which Famous Poet Are You?

The Levels of Hell

Each level of Hell is reserved for a certain type of sinner with a specific punishment for that sin. The first level is Limbo followed by Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Anger, then Heresy, Violence, Fraud, and the final level is Treachery.

Prezi- Levels of Hell (Prezi tends not to work in Chrome)

Nine Levels of Hell (video)

Level of Hell Descriptions

Circles of Hell Picture

Take A Break: Dante’s Inferno “Let It Go” Parody

Art of the Inferno

Dante and Virgil by William-Adolphe Bouguereau
By YoBarte: on Deviantart
Dante's Inferno by doubleleaf
Dante from the game By: Doubleleaf on Deviantart
By Aardman Nathan Love
By Zinfer on Deviantart

The following art comes from the Dante’s Inferno video game





Image result for dante's inferno heresy



Take A Break: Which Level of Hell Will You Go To?

Research Databases